How it all began...

The Tour de Luxembourg was created in 1935. From its creation to the early 1980s, the event was mainly dominated by Luxembourgish, Belgian, French and Dutch riders such as Charly Gaul, Marcel Ernzer, Louison Bobet and Freddy Martens. The event only became international at the beginning of the 1980’s, and victories started to come from Russian, Swiss and Danish riders.

Since the invitation of cyclists from around the globe, big names have imposed themselves on Luxembourg roads, such as Bernard Hinault, Franck Vandenbroek, Thomas Voeckler, Christian Vandevelde, Jakob Fuglsang and Greg Van Avermaet. In 2005, the Tour de Luxembourg became Škoda Tour de Luxembourg and the highly esteemed car brand has been a partner of the event ever since.

In 2020, the Škoda Tour de Luxembourg moved a level up a and entered the ProSeries division (second division of world cycling).

Luxembourg remains the country with the most victories (21 victories) ahead of Belgium (17 victories) and the Netherlands (11 victories). The Luxembourgish cyclist, Mathias Clemens, is the most successful rider with 5 victories in the general classification.

Note that the first two editions were contested by independents. The 1945 edition was also open to amateurs. The 1981 and 1982 editions were run in open category (Amateurs and Professionals).


Honors List

[dflip id="25818" ][/dflip]


Keep up to date with the latest new from the tour
Accept Terms

Google reCaptcha : clé de site non valide.

Stage 120/09Luxembourg > Luxembourg Kirchberg156,4 kms
Stage 221/09Mondorf-les-Bains > Mamer183,9 kms
Stage 322/09Mertert > Vianden168,4 kms
Stage 423/09Pétange > Pétange23,9 kms
Stage 524/09Mersch > Luxembourg Limpertsberg177,2 kms