Youth races with a rich history

The weekend of the 2nd and 3rd of July 2022 will be a well-filled one: the TDL Organisation asbl, host of the SkodaTour Luxembourg, will organise three international races for juniors and novices in the north of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

The 25th Critérium Européen des Jeunes will challenge the elite of the novice category on two demanding stages around Troisvierges and Diekirch. The young racers want to present themselves to the scouts of the big professional teams. With Cian Uijtdebroeks (2019) and Marco Brenner (2018), the last two winners of the Critérium Européen des Jeunes have meanwhile managed to join WorldTour teams: Uijtdebroeks rides for Bora-hansgrohe, Brenner competes for Team DSM.

Troisvierges will also host the 75th GP Patton on July 2. The winner could become one of the big stars of cycling in just a few years: Remco Evenepoel (2018/Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Alexandr Vlasov (2014/Bora-hansgrohe) and Marc Hirschi (2015/UAE Team Emirates) once showed themselves to the Luxembourg public, and all three of them have since won some of the biggest races in the WorldTour. For Luxembourg’s best juniors, the traditional GP Patton could be a signpost of the direction their cycling careers could take them.

One day later, on July 3, the juniors will compete again. This time in a fairly new race: The GP de Luxembourg will be held for the second time. Three years after winning the first edition in 2019, Maurice Ballerstedt is now racing as a professional rider for Alpecin-Fenix alongside Mathieu van der Poel.

The Luxembourg audience can look forward to youth cycling at the highest level.

The overview:

25th Critérium Européen des Jeunes for Novices (02-03/07/2022)
Stage 1: Troisvierges – Troisvierges (start at 11am)
Stage 2: Diekirch – Diekirch (start at 8 am)

75th GP Patton for Juniors (02/07/2022)
Troisvierges – Troisvierges (start at 14.30)

2nd GP de Luxembourg for Juniors (03/07/2022)
Diekirch – Diekirch (start at 10.30 am)

GP de Luxembourg 2019 – Photo: Serge Waldbillig / TDL Organisation
[dflip id="25818" ][/dflip]


Keep up to date with the latest new from the tour
Accept Terms

Google reCaptcha : clé de site non valide.

Stage 120/09Luxembourg > Luxembourg Kirchberg156,4 kms
Stage 221/09Mondorf-les-Bains > Mamer183,9 kms
Stage 322/09Mertert > Vianden168,4 kms
Stage 423/09Pétange > Pétange23,9 kms
Stage 524/09Mersch > Luxembourg Limpertsberg177,2 kms